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A comprehensive overview of cost behavior, cost function, and cost volume profit (cvp) analysis in accounting for managers. It covers key concepts such as variable costs, fixed costs, mixed costs, cost drivers, and break-even analysis. Numerous examples and exercises to illustrate the application of these concepts in real-world scenarios.
Typology: Lecture notes
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Prof. Dr. Mohamed Youssef
Accounting System Cost Concept Cost Driver
Variable And Fixed Costs Cost Volume Analysis Sales Mix
Special Sales Orders Limiting Factor Delete Or Continue Pricing Discussion (Cost Plus – Target Cost)
Limiting Factor Delete Or Continue
Variable Cost Fixed Cost Mixed Cost
Budgetary Income Statement Operating Budget Financial Budget (Budgetary Balance Sheet).
Accounting Rate Of Return Payback Net Present Value Internal Rate Of Return
Chapter 2 Cost Behavior: (L.O 1-5)
Variable Cost and Fixed Cost: Variable Cost (V.C) Direct Material Direct Labor Total variable cost change in direct portion with change in cost drive activity while V.C per unit remain constant unless there is increase or decrease in cost per unit.
Example: Units Cost Drive Total Variable Cost Variable Cost Per Unit 1 5$ 5$ 2 10$ 5$ 3 15$ 5$ 4 20$ 5$ 5 25$ 5$ 100 500$ 5$ 0 0 0
Fixed Cost (F.C) Overhead (Rent, Salary, Dep.,…). Total F.C unchanged regardless change in cost drive activity while F.C per unit changes as volume change.
Example: rent per month 1000$ Units Cost Drive Total Fixed Cost Variable Cost Per Unit 1 1000$ 1000$ 2 1000$ 500$ 3 1000$ 333.31$ 4 1000$ 250$ 5 1000$ 200$ 1000 1000$ 1$ 0 1000$ 1000$
Cost Behavior Cost Category Total $ Per Unit Variable Cost - VC Change when unit change *Constant Fixed Cost - FC *Constant Change when unit change
TOTAL RENT @2014 =20007$=14000$ TOTAL Dep. @2014 =20004$=8000$
Units
Total V.C
V.C per unit
Units
F.C per unit
Depreciation vs. Amortization
Tangible assets in-Tangible assets
Cost Behavior Cost Category Total $ Per Unit Variable Cost - VC Change when unit change *Constant Fixed Cost - FC *Constant Change when unit change
Example for Relevant Range: Cost drive Cost behavior 100 units 2000 units 4000 units (MAX) Notes TOTAL VC 5000$ ?(5000/100)=52000=10000$ ?(5000/100)=54000=20000$ Change when unit change TOTAL FC 4000$ ?4000$ ?4000$ Constant TOTAL COST ?(5000$+4000)=9000$ ?(10000$+4000$)=14000$ ?(20000$+4000$)=24000$ Change when unit change VC PER UNIT ?(5000$/100)=5$ ?(10000$/2000)=5$ ?(20000$/4000)=5$ Constant FC PER UNIT ?(4000$/100)=4$ ?(4000$/2000)=2$ ?(4000$/4000)=1$ Change when unit change TOTAL COST PER UNIT ?(5$+4$)=9$(MAX) ?(5$+2$)=7$ ?(5$+1$)=6$(MIN) Change when unit change
Revenue (R) Net interest income (NII) Net banking income (NBI)
$
Emp. / Bus
130000
260000
Numbers of Works
130000
260000
Supervisor Salary
Step cost
VC
FC
Mixed Cost
300000
1000
Relevant Range
$
Emp. / Salary
Contribution Approach Contribution Margin – Income Statement
Sales (3-Q??* Unit Selling Price) (500unit *20$)?? 10000$ Less All Variable Cost of sales Manufacturing Cost 9$ Marketing and admin Cost 3$ 1-Unit Variable Cost (UVC) (9$+3$)=12$ 2-Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) (20$-12$)=8$
4-Contribution Margin (CM)(Q* U CM) 500unit *8$(UCM)?? Less All Fixed cost Market Cost 2500$ Admin Cost 1500$
Sales – Total Cost = ZERO (Unit* Unit Selling Price) - (Variable cost +Fixed Cost) =ZERO (Q* Unit Selling Price (USP)) – ((Q* Unit Variable Cost (UVC)) + Total Fixed Cost) = ZERO (Q20$) – ((Q(3$+9$)) + (2500+1500) =ZERO Q = 500 unit. OR We can calculate the unit using this formula Q = Fixed Cost (FC)/ Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) Q=4000$/(20$-12$)=500unit In this case it called Brake Even Point (BEP) which is mean by using this number of units no profit or loss.
MAX CAP – Best Case Scenario Brake Even Point (BEP) = Fixed Cost (FC)/ Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) MIN FLOOR – Worst Case Scenario
Example: Brake Even Point (BEP) = Fixed Cost (FC)/ Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) = Fixed Cost (FC)/( Unit Selling Price (USP)- Unit Variable Cost (UVC)) =9000$/ (10$-7$) =3000 unit. -- Brake Even Point If increase 20% in Unit Selling Price (USP) and fixed cost 1000$. =9000$+1000$/ ((10$+2%)-7$) =5000 unit. -- Best case scenario
Brake Even Point roles: @ Brake Even Point (BEP) Contribution Margin (CM) is Variable = Fixed Cost (FC) is Constant @ Brake Even Point (BEP) Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) is Constant=Unit Fixed Cost (UFC) is Variable Above the level of Brake Even Point (BEP) Contribution Margin (CM) = Operating Income (OI)
You have this information: Unit Selling Price (USP) 20$. Manufacturing Cost per unit sales 9$. Marketing and admin cost per unit sales 3$ Market Cost 2500$. Admin Cost 1500$.
oino BEP)) F F
oinntnt (B((B BEP) =
You have this information: Unit Selling Price (USP) 10$. Unit Variable Cost (UVC)7$. Fixed cost 9000$ Calculate how many units we can reach the Brake Even Point (BEP)?? And what if increase 20% in Unit Selling Price (USP) and fixed cost 1000$.
Brake Even Point $:
Unit Contribution Margin (UCM)=Unit Sales Price (USP)-Unit Variable Cost (UVC) Contribution Margin (UCM %) = Unit Contribution Margin (UCM)/Unit Sales Price(USP). Brake Even Point (BEP) = Fixed Cost (FC)/ Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) Brake Even Point $(BEP$) = Fixed Cost (FC)/ Contribution Margin (UCM%) =4000$/40%=1000$
Unit Sales Price (USP)
20$
Per 1$ of Sales
Per Unit
Target Operating Income: Target Net Income (TNI) =Target Sales –Variable Cost – Fixed Cost Unites Target Sales (UTS) = ( Fixed Cost + Target net income (TNI))/Unit Contribution Margin (UCM)
Example 1: Contribution Approach Contribution Margin – Income Statement
Sales (Q* Unit Selling Price) (500unit *20$) 10000$ Less All Variable Cost of sales Manufacturing Cost 9$ Marketing and admin Cost 3$ Unit Variable Cost (UVC) (9$+3$)=12$ Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) (20$-12$)=8$
Contribution Margin (CM)(Q* Unit Contribution Margin) 500unit *8$(UCM) Less All Fixed cost Market Cost 2500$ Admin Cost 1500$
Target Operating Income (TOI) Less TAX 20%
Example 2:
Contribution Approach Contribution Margin – Income Statement 500 unit 200 unit
Sales (Q* Unit Selling Price) (500unit *20$) 10000$ Zero Less All Variable Cost of sales Manufacturing Cost 9$ Marketing and admin Cost 3$ Unit Variable Cost (UVC) (9$+3$)=12$ Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) (20$-12$)=8$
Zero
Contribution Margin (CM)(Q* UCM) 500unit *8$ Less All Fixed cost Market Cost 2500$ Admin Cost 1500$
Target Operating Income (TOI)= (200)8$ Less TAX 20%=1600$.
Zero Zero
Zero
1600$ (320$)
You have this information: Unit Selling Price (USP) 20$. Manufacturing Cost per unit sales 9$. Marketing and admin cost per unit sales 3$ Market Cost 2500$. Admin Cost 1500$. TAX 20% Calculate the target operating income and target net income.
You have this information: Unit Selling Price (USP) 20$. Manufacturing Cost per unit sales 9$. Marketing and admin cost per unit sales 3$ Market Cost 2500$. Admin Cost 1500$. TAX 20% If the unit increase to 700 unit calculate the (TNI)
Example 3:
If we need to know how many units we need to achieve target operating income:
Target Operating Income (TOI) = Target Net Income (TNI) / (1-Tax %)
TOI=1280$/ (1-.2) =1600$
Target Operating Income per Units (Q) = (All Fixed cost + Target Operating Income (TOI))/ Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) Target Operating Income per Units (Q) = (4000$+1600$)/8$=700unit
Unit Contribution Margin %(UCM%)= Unit Contribution Margin (UCM)/Unit sales price (USP)
Unit Contribution Margin %(UCM%)=8$/20$=40%
Target Operating Income per $=(All Fixed cost + Target Operating Income (TOI))/ Contribution Margin% (CM%) Target Operating Income per $=(4000$+1600$)/.
Target Operating Income per $=14000$
Type of taxes:
Corporate income tax Personal income tax Sales tax Salary tax Federal income tax
Operating leverage: Firm ration of fixed cost to variable cost Highly leverage firms have high fixed costs and low variable costs. a small change in sales volume = a large change in net income.
Example 1: Company X Company Y Monthly salary 10000$ 10000$ Less monthly expenses Fixed cost (6000$) (2000$) Variable cost (1000$) (5000$) Monthly saving cash 3000$ 3000$
Operating leverage (FC/VC)
High Risk Low Risk
Example 2: Good year Poor year Company A Company B Company A Company B Sales(10010$) 1000$ 1000$ Sales(8010$) 800$ 800$ Less variable cost Less variable cost Variable Cost for A 3$ (300$) Variable Cost for A 3$ (300$) Variable Cost for B 6$ (600$) Variable Cost for B 6$ (600$) Less Fixed cost Less Fixed cost Fixed Cost for A 6$ (600$) Fixed Cost for A 6$ (600$) Fixed Cost for B 3$ (300$) Fixed Cost for B 3$ (300$) Operating Income (OI) 100$ 100$ Operating Income (OI) (40$) 20$
Operating leverage (OL)
Operating leverage (OL) High Risk Low Risk High Risk Low Risk
Operating Risk: Risk High Low
Margin Of Safety (MOS) =Unit sales – break even sales
Contribution Margin and Gross Margin: The Gross Margin (GM) uses the division on the production or acquisition cost versus selling and administrative cost dimension. The Contribution Margin (CM) uses the division based on the variable-cost versus fixed-cost dimension.
Example 1: Contribution Approach Contribution Margin – Income Statement
Sales (3-Q??* Unit Selling Price) (500unit *20$)?? 10000$ Less All Variable Cost of sales Manufacturing Cost 9$ Marketing and admin Cost 3$ 1-Unit Variable Cost (UVC) (9$+3$)=12$ 2-Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) (20$-12$)=8$
4-Contribution Margin (CM)(Q* U CM) 500unit *8$(UCM)?? Less All Fixed cost Market Cost 2500$ Admin Cost 1500$
Gross Margin (GM) OR Gross Profit (GP) = Sales Price (SP) - Cost of Goods Sold (COGS) = Sales Price (SP) – (Variable Cost + Fixed Cost)= = Sales Price (SP) – ((Manufacturing Cost unit Sold)+ Market Cost)) Gross Margin (GM) OR Gross Profit (GP) = 10000$-(9$500unit+2500$)=3000$
Contribution Margin (CM) = Sales Price (SP) –Variable Cost (VC) =10000$-((9$500unit)+(3$500unit)) Contribution Margin (CM) =10000$-6000$=4000$ Example 2: Unit Contribution Margin
Unit Gross Margin Sales 1.5$ 1.50$ Less Total Variable Cost Cost Of Unit Sold (1.20$) (1.20$) Unit Contribution Margin .30$ Unit Gross Margin .30$ Example 3: Unit Contribution Margin
Unit Gross Margin Sales 1.5$ 1.50$ Less Total Variable Cost Cost Of Unit Sold (1.20$) (1.20$) Variable Cost (.12$) Unit Contribution Margin .18$ Unit Gross Margin .30$
You have this information: Unit Selling Price (USP) 20$. Manufacturing Cost per unit sales 9$. Marketing and admin cost per unit sales 3$ Market Cost 2500$. Admin Cost 1500$.
Page
Example2: Which line of this sales mix high profit mix??
Product A Product B Product C Product D Product E Unit Price 3$ 2$ 9$ 5$ 4$ Sales Mix A 1 2 1 3 3 Sales Mix B 2 5 0 2 1 Sales Mix C 1 0 9 0 0 Sales Mix D 2 5 1 0 2 Sales Mix E 1 3 2 1 3 Total Sales MIX 7 15 13 6 9 Profit MIX 21 30 117 30 36
Example3:
Break-even point for a constant sales mix of 4 units of W for every unit of K. Need Total unit in package and what if company sells only key cases or sells only wallets??
Product W Product K Q 300000/75000=4 75000/75000= UCM 300000/300000=1 300000/150000= CMPM=6$ 41=4$ 12=2$ BEPP=FC/ CMPM=180000$/6$=30000unit Product W Product K =430000=120000 =130000= Total unit in package =120000+30000=150000 unit Or Break-even point for a constant sales mix of 4 units of W for every unit of K. Sales – variable expense – fixed expenses = zero net income [$8(4K) + $5(K)] – [$7(4K) + $3(K)] – $180,000 = 0 32K + 5K - 28K - 3K - 180,000 = 0 6K = 180,000 K = 30,000 and W = 4K = 120, Total unit in package = 30,000K + 120,000W = 150,000 total units (K + W).
If the company sells only key cases: Break-even point = fixed expenses/contribution margin per unit =$180,000 / $2 = 90,000 key cases If the company sells only wallets: Break-even point = fixed expenses/contribution margin per unit =$180,000 / $1 = 180,000 wallets
Example4: Suppose total sales were equal to the budget of 375,000 units. However, Ramos sold only 50,000 key cases And 325,000 wallets. What is net income?
Product Wallets (W) Key Cases (K) Total Sales in units 300,000 75,000 375, Sales @ $8 and $5 $2,400,000 $375,000 $2,775, Less Variable expenses@ $7 and $3 ($2,100,000) ($225,000) ($2,325,000) Contribution margins @ $1 and $2 $ 300,000 $150,000 $ 450, Less Fixed expenses ($ 180,000) Net income $ 270,
Product Wallets (W) Key Cases (K) Total Sales in units 325,000 50,000 375,
Sales @ $8 and $5 $2,600,000 $250,000 $2,850, Less Variable expenses@ $7 and $3 ($2,275,000) ($150,000) ($2,425,000) Contribution margins@ $1 and $2 $325,000 $100,000 $425, Less Fixed expenses ($180,000) Net income $245,
Impact of Income Taxes: Income taxes do not affect the break-even point. There is no income tax at a level of zero income. Income taxes affect the calculation of the volume required to achieve a specified after-tax target profit.
Target Operating Income (TOI) = TNI/ (1-TAX RATE) Target Net Income (TNI) = TOI*(1-TAX RATE)
Example:
Contribution Approach Contribution Margin – Income Statement 500 unit 200 unit
Sales (Q* Unit Selling Price) (500unit *20$) 10000$ Zero Less All Variable Cost of sales Manufacturing Cost 9$ Marketing and admin Cost 3$ Unit Variable Cost (UVC) (9$+3$)=12$ Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) (20$-12$)=8$
Zero
Contribution Margin (CM)(Q* UCM) 500unit *8$ Less All Fixed cost Market Cost 2500$ Admin Cost 1500$
Target Operating Income (TOI)= (200)8$ Less TAX 20%=1600$.
Zero Zero
Zero
1600$ (320$)
Example 2:
If we need to know how many units we need to achieve target operating income:
Target Operating Income (TOI) = Target Net Income (TNI) / (1-Tax %) TOI=1280$/ (1-.2) =1600$
Target Operating Income per Units (Q) = (All Fixed cost + Target Operating Income (TOI))/ Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) Target Operating Income per Units (Q) = (4000$+1600$)/8$=700unit
Unit Contribution Margin %(UCM%)= Unit Contribution Margin (UCM)/Unit sales price (USP) Unit Contribution Margin %(UCM%)=8$/20$=40%
Target Operating Income per $=(All Fixed cost + Target Operating Income (TOI))/ Contribution Margin% (CM%) Target Operating Income per $=(4000$+1600$)/. Target Operating Income per $=14000$
You have this information: Unit Selling Price (USP) 20$. Manufacturing Cost per unit sales 9$. Marketing and admin cost per unit sales 3$ Market Cost 2500$. Admin Cost 1500$. TAX 20% If the unit increase to 700 unit calculate the (TNI)
Spesial Sales Order Work: The special sales order work only when use: 1-Total variable cost 2-manafactoring cost
Example 1: Contribution Approach Contribution Margin – Income Statement JUN 500 1000 Sales (3-Q??* Unit Selling Price) (500unit *20$)?? 10000$ 15000$ 25000$ Less All Variable Cost of sales Manufacturing Cost 9$ Marketing and admin Cost 3$ 1-Unit Variable Cost (UVC) @500 (9$+3$)=12$ 2-Unit Contribution Margin (UCM) @500(20$-12$)=8$@1000(15$-12$)=3$
4-Contribution Margin (CM)(Q* U CM) @500unit *8$ @1000unit *3$ Less All Fixed cost Market Cost 1500$ Admin Cost 1500$
Zero 3000 =======
1- If the special sales price greater than or equal the UVC then we accept. 2- Change on OI or change on CM (15-12)*1000=3000$. 3- New OI 1000+3000=4000$
Example 2: 1- If the special sales price 10.5$ (greater than or equal ) the UVC 9$ then we accept. 2- Change on OI or change on CM (10.5-9)*1000=1500$. 3- New OI 1000+1500=2250$
Example 3: 1- If the special sales price 9$ (greater than or equal ) the UVC 12$ then we reject.
Deletion and addation: Example: Product A Product B Sales 5000 7000 Less VC (3000) (4000) CM 2000 3000 Less FC Avoidable Cost (1500)^ (1000) Unavoidable Cost (1000) (500) OI (500) 1500 1000
You have this information: Unit Selling Price (USP) 20$. Manufacturing Cost per unit sales 9$. Marketing and admin cost per unit sales 3$ Market Cost 1500$. Admin Cost 1500$. IF special sales order for 1000 unit @ 15$ did we accept or
You have this information: Assume the special order sales order price 10.5$ this dissection has no effect on Marketing & admin variable cost IF special sales order for 1000 unit @ 10.5$ did we accept or not??
You have this information: Assume the special order sales order price 9$ IF special sales order for 1000 unit @ 9$ did we accept or not??
You have this information: If CM greater than or equal the Avoidable Cost then continue. And If CM less the Avoidable Cost then delete.
If we to delete product A. So the Unavoidable Cost Will Cary up for product B.
Le CM LeLe
Limiting Factor:
Macro Level Micro Level
Demand Side Supply Side
Demand Unlimited Demand Limited Supply Limited
700 unit 200unit 500 unit
Example: Product A Product B Demand type Limited Unlimited Demand unit 200 unit 1000 unit UCM 20$ 5$ Time per unit 2 hour=120 minute 5 Minute Unit per hour .5 unit 12 unit Calculate the limited and unlimited demand max profit CM per hour .520=10$ 125$=60$ Limited demand max profit =20010$=2000$ Unlimited demand max profit=1000unit60$=60000$
Example: Time 1 Hour 3 Minute 10 Minute 20 Minute 30 Minute Product A B C D E UCM 3$ 2$ 10$ 5$ 4$ Which product is limited demand and which is unlimited demand?? Product C
el M
mand ply S
ma
d Side
d Unlimited Demand L
and
and
p
Limit
p y