Docsity
Docsity

Prepare for your exams
Prepare for your exams

Study with the several resources on Docsity


Earn points to download
Earn points to download

Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan


Guidelines and tips
Guidelines and tips

Official IAABO Rules Test - Written Examination | 2024 Questions & Answers | 100% Correct, Exams of Sport Studies

A-1, while dribbling, commits a common foul on B-1. The official rules a player control foul. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 4-19-6: A player-control fouls is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter. Thrower-in A-1, from his/her frontcourt, passes the ball directly into the backcourt to A2. When A-2 touches the ball, the official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 4-12-2: A team is in control of the ball: a. When a player of the team is in control. b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. c. During an interrupted dribble. d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in. 9-9:

Typology: Exams

2023/2024

Available from 08/16/2024

tizian-kylan
tizian-kylan 🇺🇸

2.7

(21)

3.7K documents

1 / 15

Toggle sidebar

This page cannot be seen from the preview

Don't miss anything!

bg1
Official IAABO Rules Test - Written Examination |
2024 Questions & Answers | 100% Correct |
Verified
A-1, while dribbling, commits a common foul on B-1. The official rules a player control foul. Is the official
correct? - ✔✔Yes
4-19-6:
A player-control fouls is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by
an airborne shooter.
Thrower-in A-1, from his/her frontcourt, passes the ball directly into the backcourt to A2. When A-2
touches the ball, the official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No
4-12-2:
A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.
b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.
c. During an interrupted dribble.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.
9-9:
Art. 1- A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt,
or if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to
the backcourt.
Art. 2- While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from
backcourt to frontcout and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such
that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt.
Art. 3- During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her
frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both
feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first
foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
After the warning horn has sounded during a time-out, A-6 reports to the scorer to enter the game. The
official beckons A-6 into the game. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No
pf3
pf4
pf5
pf8
pf9
pfa
pfd
pfe
pff

Partial preview of the text

Download Official IAABO Rules Test - Written Examination | 2024 Questions & Answers | 100% Correct and more Exams Sport Studies in PDF only on Docsity!

Official IAABO Rules Test - Written Examination |

2024 Questions & Answers | 100% Correct |

Verified

A-1, while dribbling, commits a common foul on B-1. The official rules a player control foul. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 4 - 19 - 6: A player-control fouls is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter. Thrower-in A-1, from his/her frontcourt, passes the ball directly into the backcourt to A2. When A- 2 touches the ball, the official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 4 - 12 - 2: A team is in control of the ball: a. When a player of the team is in control. b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. c. During an interrupted dribble. d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in. 9 - 9: Art. 1- A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, or if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. Art. 2- While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcout and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt. Art. 3- During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. After the warning horn has sounded during a time-out, A-6 reports to the scorer to enter the game. The official beckons A-6 into the game. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No

3 - 3 - 1a: Art. 1- A substitute who desires to enter shall report to the scorer, giving his/her number. a. Between quarters, at halftime and during the time-out, the substitute must report or be in position to report to the scorer, prior to the warning signal which is sounded 15 seconds before the end of the intermission or the time-out. A-1 is erroneously awarded a one and one. A-1 makes both free throws. B-1 passes to B-2, who scores. Prior to the ball being at the disposal of Team A, the error is discovered. The official rules the time frame to correct the error has expired. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 2 - 10 - 2: In order to correct any of the official's errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recongized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. As A-1's field goal passes through the net, A-2 interferes with the ball preventing Team B from readily making a throw-in. The official issues a warning to Team A. Later in the game A-3 breaks the plane of the boundary line during Team B's throw-in. The official issues another warning for this infraction. Is this official correct? - ✔✔No 10 - 1 - 5d: c. Commit a violation of the throw-in boundary-line plane, as in 9- 2 - 10, after situations. d. Contact with the free thrower or a huddle of two or more players in the lane by either team prior to a free throw following any team warning for delay. e. Interfering with the ball following a goal after any team warning for delay. A fight breaks out between A-1 and B-1. The head coach of Team A enters the court to help restore order and prevent the situation from escalating. The official charges the coach with a technical foul for entering the court without being beckoned. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 10 - 4 - 5: Leave the confines of the bench during a fight or when a fight may break out. Note: The head coach may enter the court in the situation where a fight may break out - or has broken out - to prevent the situation from escalating.

Team control continues until: a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. b. An opponent secures control. c. The becomes dead. 9 - 8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds. A-1, dribbling from the backcourt to frontcourt, has both feet in the frontcourt while the ball is being dribbled in the backcourt. The official continues the 10-second count. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 4 - 4 - 6: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt. 9 - 8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds. A-6 replaces A-1. During Team B's throw-in, Team B is granted a time-out. During the time-out, A- 1 reports to replace A-2. The official allows A-1 to enter the game. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 3 - 3 - 4: A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement. A-1's throw-in is batted into the backcourt by A-2, who is in the frontcourt. A-1 is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt. The official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 4 - 12 - 2: A team is in control of the ball: a. When a player of the team is in control. b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. c. During an interrupted dribble.

d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in. 9 - 9 - 1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, or if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. Team A's jerseys have a manufacturer's logo just below the shoulder seam on the front of the jersey. The official rules that no visible manufacturer logo maybe placed on the jersey. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 3 - 4 - 2a: Logos/flags/patches shall adhere to the following: a. A visible manufacturer's logo/trademark/reference is permitted on the team jersey, not to exceed 2. square inches with no dimension more than 2.25 inches. The manufacturer's logo may be located no more than 5 inches below the shoulder seam on the front of the jersey, or 2 inches from the neckline on the back of the jersey; or in either side insert. Team A scores and then is granted a time-out. Following the time-out the official rules Team B's throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 7 - 5 - 7: A throw-in anywhere along the end line after a goal or an awarded goal for basket interference or goaltending by a defensive player, as in 9-12 Penalty 1, the team not credited with the score shall make a throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line. a. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary. b. A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line. During A-1's interrupted dribble, A-1 commits a common foul on B-1. The official rules a team control foul. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 4 - 15 - 6b: During an interrupted dribble: b. A player-control foul cannot be committed.

A team is in control of the ball: b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. 4 - 19 - 7: A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a member of the team that has team control (including a member of the throw-in team from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds). 10 - 6 Penalty 1b:

  1. No free throws: b. For a player-control or team-control foul. Prior to releasing the ball on a pass. A-1 lifts his/her pivot foot off the floor. The official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 4 - 44 - 3a: After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. Jumper A-1 taps the ball which hits the floor and is caught by jumper A-1. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 6 - 3 - 8: The jump ball and the restrictions in 6- 3 - 7 end when the touched ball contacts one of the eight nonjumpers, an official, the floor, a basket or backboard. 4 - 28 - 2: The jump ball begins when the ball leaves the official's hand(s) and ends when the touched ball contacts a nonjumper, the floor, a basket or backboard. Team A is granted a 60-second time-out. After 20 seconds Team A comes back on the floor ready to resume play. The official informs the Team A coach that a time-out cannot be shortened until both teams are ready to play before the time is over. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 5 - 11 - 2: A single 60-second time-out charged to a team shall not exceed one minute and shall be conducted within the confines of the time-out area. A warning signal for the teams to prepare to resume play is

sounded with 15 seconds remaining. Such a time-out shall not be reduced in length unless both teams are ready to play before the time-out is over. A-1 is injured and the official stops the game and directs A-1 to the bench. The head coach of Team A requests a time-out. Following the time-out, A-1 enters the court ready to play. The official allows A-1 to re-enter. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 3 - 3 - 6: A player who has been injured to the extent that the coach or any other bench personnel is beckoned and comes onto the court shall be directed to leave the game, unless a time-out is requested by, and granted to, his/her team and the situation can be corrected by the end of the time-out. A-1's try lodges between the ring and the backboard. The official resumes play using the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 6 - 4 - 3d: Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows. A-2 catches A-1's throw-in pass with one foot touching the floor in the frontcourt and the other foot then comes down in the backcourt. The official rules a legal play. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 9 - 9 - 1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, or if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. 4 - 4 - 1: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt. While A-1 is dribbling, B-1 bats the ball away. While the ball is loose, Team A is still in control. Is this correct? - ✔✔Yes 4 - 12 - 4:

Art. 1...Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket. Art. 2...Touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base. Exception: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference. Art. 3...Touches the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below. Art. 4...Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position. A-1, while airborne, catches the ball. As A-1's momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds, A- 1 requests a time-out. The official grants the request. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 5 - 8 - 3a: Grants and signals a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when: a. The ball is at the disposal or in control of a player of his/her team. Thrower-in A-1 commits a violation during an alternating possession procedure. The official awards the ball to Team B and has the scorer turn the arrow toward Team B's basket. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 6 - 4 - 5: The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If an opponent commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is postponed. A-1 is fouled and injured. A-6 replaces A-1 to attempt the free throws. After the successful free throws, A-7 reports to replace A-6. Official beckons A-7 into the game. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 3 - 3 - 4: A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement.

A-1 has control of the ball behind the sem-circle when A-2 and B-2 commit a double personal foul in the lane. Official resumes play by awarding the ball to Team A nearest where the ball was located. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 4 - 36 - 2a: Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods: a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred. A-1 jumps into the air to try for goal. A-1, seeing it may be blocked, drops the ball to the floor. A- 1 returns to the floor and catches the ball. The official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

  • ✔✔Yes 4 - 44 - 3c: After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble. Player A-1 attempts a try. A-1, seeing the try will fall short, follows the try and is the first to touch the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or any player. Official rules a violation. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 4 - 12 - 3a: Team control continues until: a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. During Team A's interrupted dribble, Team A requests a time-out. Official grants the request, Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 4 - 15 - 6c: During an interrupted dribble: c. A time-out request shall not be granted. 5 - 8 - 3a: Grants and signals a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when: a. The ball is at the disposal or in control of a player of his/her team.

4 - 42 - 5a: The throw-in ends when: a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds. B-2 fouls A-2 while A-1 is in the act of shooting. A-1 continues the motion and scores. The official counts the goal. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 4 - 11 - 1 & 2: Art. 1...Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight. Art. 2...If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight. 6 - 7 - 7 Exception c: The becomes dead, or remains dead, when: A foul, other than player-or team-control, occurs (see exceptions a, b and c below) Exception: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when: c. Art. 7 occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for goal (is in the act of shooting) before the foul occurred, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight. The trying motion must be continuous and begins after the ball comes to rest in the player's hand(s) on a try or touches the hand(s) on a tap, and is completed when the ball is clearly in flight. The trying motion may include arm, foot or body movements used by the player when throwing the ball at his/her basket. A-1 commits his/her fifth foul and is disqualified. Prior to Team A replacing A-1, Team B requests a time- out. Official grants the request. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 5 - 8 - 3b: Grants and signals a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when: b. The ball is dead, unless replacement of a disqualified, or injured player(s), or a player directed to leave the game is pending, and a substitute(s) is available and required.

A-1, holding the ball in the frontcourt and closely guarded, starts his/her dribble. The official starts a new 5 second closely guarded violation count. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 9 - 10 1a: A player shall not while closely guarded: a. In his/her frontcourt, hold the ball for five seconds or dribble the ball for five seconds. The head coach of Team A is charged with one indirect technical foul an done direct technical foul. The official ejects the coach for receiving his/her second technical foul. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 10 - 5 Note: A single flagrant foul, the second direct technical foul or the third technical (any combination of direct or indirect) charged to the head coach results in disqualification and ejection. Ejected adult bench personnel shall leave the vicinity (out of sight and sound) of the playing area immediately and are prohibited from any further contact (direct or indirect) with the team during the remainder of the game. Failure to comply with the rules of ejection may result in the game being forfeited. While A-1's try is in flight, A-2 commits a common foul. The official rules this a team control foul. Is the official correct? - ✔✔No 4 - 19 - 7: A team-control foul is a common foul committed by a member of the team that has team control (including a member of the throw-in team from the start of the throw-in until player control is obtained inbounds). 4 - 12 - 3a: Team control continues until: a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. A-2 and A-3 set a screen near the boundary line, A-1, in using the screen, leaves the playing court. As soon as A-1 steps out of bounds, the official rules this a violation. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes 9 - 3 - 3: A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason. A-1 dives for loose ball and slides on the floor after gaining control. A-1 is on his/her stomach and completely stopped when he/she rolls over. The official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct? - ✔✔Yes